Under California employment law, departing employees are entitled to receive their final paycheck within certain strict deadlines.
Employees who quit without giving prior notice must be paid their wages within 72 hours. Employees who provide at least 72 hours notice of their intention to quit must be paid their wages on their final workday.
If the employer does not comply with California law, former employees are eligible to compensation in the form of penalties paid by the employer. For every day that final wages are not completely paid, the employer is liable for penalty wages equivalent to the employee’s daily wage, up to a maximum of 30 days.
Questions about whether you were promptly paid at termination?
If you believe that you were not paid promptly at your termination, please call toll-free (866) 981-4800 or fill the form out on the right for a confidential consultation with our employment lawyers.